Sweet Potatoes: Easy and Healthy


The softer, orange-fleshed variety of sweet po...

The softer, orange-fleshed variety of sweet potato, commonly referred to as a yam in the United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I married my husband over 30 years ago, the last news I expected from his first doctor appointment was a list of dietary restrictions. I was in love and it didn’t matter that he wasn’t athletic and fit. But, along with that came health problems that required me as a young bride to learn to cook low salt, low fat, low sugar and still make it delicious. After all in a few years we would have children who would need nutritious tasty meals. No easy to prepare meals existed at the time. There was no Healthy Choice. Anything that did exist that came close to what I needed was too expensive for a couple just starting out. The best choice was to learn to do it on my own. I tried to follow the recipes in all the Prevention magazines I devoured, but many of the ingredients were not available.

My mother, Carol Bell, and my grandmother, Marie Stiffler were both very good cooks. Grandma Stiffler had baked so much bread that she was preparing recipes without needing to measure the ingredients by the time I was a young girl. But we moved far away from family and I had to teach myself new recipes as well as experiment to create my own. I loved to cook and some of my fondest memories involve my kids in the kitchen along side me. Together we learned math as we measured ingredients, and chemistry and science in baking.

Today my children are independent adults. Once in a while one of my daughters or the other will ask for cooking advice. Mostly though it’s just my husband and me. I am still very busy and have very little time to spend in the kitchen.

Here’s tip 1: fruit and vegetables in their natural state have no unhealthy additives; no additional salt, sugar, or fat. That’s the best place to start.

Tip 2: Peeling and slicing take a lot of extra time and the skin is loaded with nutrition and fiber. Clean it and leave it unless cooking for someone who cannot digest it.

Today I prepared sweet potatoes for my husband before he went to work. Here is the list of ingredients

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, washed, ends removed
  • low fat margarine spread
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, about a quarter teaspoon each and set aside mixed

Equipment

Preparation: Slice the potatoes into quarters into wedges, no need to peel. spread each quarter with just enough margarine to make the spices stick and arrange them in the pan with the buttered side up. Sprinkle with the spice mixture. Place under the broiler in the oven (I used  my NuWave oven) for 15 minutes. They will be both soft and crispy, just sweet enough. they need nothing else. I forgot that I normally would have remembered to add a little sweetener (brown sugar would be great but my husband is diabetic). I didn’t remember until I returned the plates to the kitchen. This dish did not need any sugar. It makes a great side to pork chops or chicken. It was very good.

 

About valrfederoff
Valerie lives in the shore area of New Jersey with her husband Vlad. She is always learning and teaching. She has earned a BA in Sociology and Psychology from Carlow University in Pittsburgh, Pa. and a MAT in Elementary Education from New Jersey City University. She haves raised three children, taught children in religious education and public school, won awards as a leader in Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts. She takes part in local library and community activities. When not writhing and teaching Valerie can be seen biking or hiking.

I covet your feedback.

United Methodist Connections

A blog about The United Methodist Church

Church Is Messy (and that's a good thing)

thoughts on life, church, and culture

DIY MFA

I free you to focus on your business.

Writing in Color

Because Life is More than Black and White

DavidFarland.net

I free you to focus on your business.

Make A Living Writing

I free you to focus on your business.

I free you to focus on your business.

I free you to focus on your business.

expatlogue

Life without borders.....

The Purple Jacket

Be A Healthy Caregiver

Fidlerten Place

Politics and Other Issues Discussed in a Courteous and Civilized Manner.

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

Two Voices, One Song

Two friends taking on the world over a cup of tea - Philosophy, Creativity, Poetry and Peace

Seniors for a Democratic Society

"A decent provision for the poor is the true test of civilization." —Samuel Johnson

Worldwide Freelance Writer

Freelance writing markets, resources, and more!

The Collaborative Writer

Demythologizing cultural beliefs about writing, one post at a time

Kim Brittingham & Co.

Content Development for Thought Leaders

moderndaychris

an education reform blog

Two Gallants

Hark! Oi! Canst thou hear?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

