Quick Update


Strong Beginnings

Strong Beginnings (Photo credit: heraldpost)

 

I have been absent. I am sorry I have not published in a very long time.

 

 

 

I gave up on ever finding a full-time professional teaching position. However, last-minute this past August 2013, I was offered a Pre-Kindergarten class. At first I was not going to take it because my certification is K-5, but the school where I enjoyed substitute teaching the most contracted with a substitute teaching agency. I am very happy with my new class. I belong here. I was made for this. This is my calling.

 

It took eight years from the time I started this journey to find my dream. It took time for me to grow as a person as well.  There were too many things going on in my own life to add more challenges. Once I changed, I enjoyed teaching so much that it was my only focus while I was in the classroom. I just needed someone to notice how good I was. Competition for jobs being what it is these days, the jobs went to twenty-three year-olds with relatives and friends in the system.

 

I wanted to make a difference in a public high need district. God opened a door for me in a private school. The students are the same everywhere. All students need good teachers. I am still making a difference.

 

With lesson plans and acquiring supplies, I have not been able to devote any time to writing. I still consider myself a writer and intend to get back to it. Perhaps this vacation. I am always making up songs and poems in class. My students provide me with plenty of inspiration. Writing is still part of who I am. Perhaps the hiatus will benefit my writing. Time will tell.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Val,
    It is true, I haven’t heard from you in a while.

    God does open the doors of opportunity and sometimes in places we least expect them to be open. I am sure it is rewarding teaching children. I had the opportunity to teach children’s church one time and I enjoyed it immensely.

  2. I am happy that you have found a job you love. The writing will happen in time. Might I suggest just keeping a notebook handy wherever you are to write down those ideas…the things the children say, etc. that you want to remember. You never know when you might be able to incorporate that into a writing piece one day! Merry Christmas! Christ is Born!

    • I do that on my cell phone under Google drive or keep. I tend to loose all the rantings on napkins, church bulletins, receipts, and other loose papers. the pages in small notebooks in my purse get crumpled and torn out of place too.Apps on my cell stay until I delete them, the content becomes available on my home computer. Yea!

I covet your feedback.

